It’s Showtime

img_20170301_200336  (Us all set to burn the stage!)

Dear Diary,

Do you remember when I told you about the dream I had before I decided to do an MBA?

“A room full of people. A fancy background with my name on it. Perfect silence. And everyone’s waiting. It’s my turn to speak. I walk across the room. I begin, and before I know my speech is over. All I hear is applause. I thank them and smile.”

Well, believe it or not, but this is exactly what I lived today – the day of my first MBA presentation!

Now, it wasn’t exactly a speech. In fact, nothing close. My team and I had to talk about “Capitalizing and Expensing  Costs”.  Just a fancy word for accounting stuff. (I’m taking financial accounting this semester!)

Now I won’t go into details of what we actually said. To be honest, I don’t really remember at this point. But I will talk about everything else that made it awesome.

Around 4:30 pm, we met in the grad room, all dressed up – coats, ties, shirts, heels – basically, in consultant mode. After that we began to rehearse our parts. Half an hour later, we finished.

Since I could barely keep my eyes open, (have 2 classes on Wednesdays ☹) I decided to head to Starbucks with one of my colleagues. I ordered a cappuccino, and watched the clock. It was 5:10 pm already. Thirty more minutes, and it would be show time. That’s when I began to panic a bit.

Suddenly, I saw a small cup with my name on the counter. But on the other side, it said something else too – “Good Luck!”.

Just reading that little message made me feel so much better. Once again, this place had won my heart.

Before we knew it, it was time to present.

We started telling them about Lego Inc., a giant company that needed help. Buildings that were going to be constructed. New products that would be made. Etc. etc.

And at the end, there was silence.

But one that was of a good kind. Seconds later, all we heard was applause. Loud applause accompanied by a lot of smiles.

We had done it. The costs were taken care of. Lego was now happy. The show was over. And the story was told.

My dream had come true. And I felt great.

Suddenly, everything made sense. Me travelling thousands of miles. Coming to this new city that I now called home. Deciding to study here.

Everything.

But I learnt something important today.

It’s okay to be afraid. It’s alright to challenge ourselves. It may seem scary at first, but it always pays off in the end 😊

Just like it did for us today.

Hope that it remains that way.

Well, that’s it for now. Time for me to say goodnight.

Have another class tomorrow.

This month is going to be crazy. Will keep you posted on all the details.

Love,

Drazilda

Leave a Reply

